“Ever heard of a Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) being used t

來源: hy211 2013-03-22 05:05:23 [] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (4845 bytes)

http://skloverworkingwisdom.com/blog/index.php/ever-heard-of-a-performance-improvement-plan-pip-being-used-to-force-retirement/

“Ever heard of a Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) being used to force retirement?”

Published on September 1st, 2009 by Alan Sklover

Question: I have been a successful science teacher for 27 years. I teach all of the science classes in a small rural school, grades 7 to 12. Four years ago, the Superintendent of our school nominated me for a science teaching excellence award.

This past spring, before I left for summer break, the principal informed me that I have to complete professional improvement activities (submitting written reports on articles he assigns, etc.) throughout the next school year. Because of my teaching load, this is going to be a burden on me, and I believe he is doing this to encourage me to retire. Is there any information on PIP’s being used as punishment by administrators, or forcing people to retire?

Lana
Portales, New Mexico

Answer: I am not sure if there are any statistics or studies on the subject of using PIP’s to punish or force to retire. In my very experienced opinion, there doesn’t need to be.

For more than two decades I’ve helped people with problems and opportunities at work. Performance Improvement Plans (“PIP’s”) have been a persistent problem for my clients throughout the time. Lately, it’s been like an epidemic. “Performance” and “PIP” are the two most common words people plug into search engines to come to our blog. Every single month.