geeks vs. nerds

來源: SnowFallingOnWater 2014-06-25 09:55:45 [] [博客] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (4461 bytes)
本文內容已被 [ SnowFallingOnWater ] 在 2014-06-25 10:38:23 編輯過。如有問題,請報告版主或論壇管理刪除.

Do you know the difference between “geeks” and “nerds”? If somebody calls you a geek, does he mean in a good way? I am a programmer. As you can imagine, I hear quite often that people commenting us as “nerds” or “geeks”, however, they do, in the end, say that I don’t look like a nerd. I take it as a compliment ;-), but can’t help wondering: what exactly geeks and nerds mean. 

Simply put,

A geek is generally knowledgeable, even to a point of obsession, about one particular topic. When you talk to a geek, he or she may appear as an expert in certain fields and they seem social until you hit the subject which he or she is fascinated (or obsessed). Then they will explain to you how exactly Lord of rings story is, or if you disagree, they might try to convince you until you decide to let him win the argument (note: I say this because I had experience dealing with geeks).

A nerd is usually an irritating, unattractive person who may be brilliant, but who chooses to focus on non-social pursuits. They are normally very knowledgeable but are shy to express themselves. 

By the way, I don’t know why they always assume geeks and nerds wear glasses (wink, wink…….)

The diagram below gives a better idea of what geeks, nerds and dorks are.

Difference 1: Communications

** Geeks use obscure references abundantly.

** Nerds love using jargon or unfamiliar terminology.

** examples: when talking about the sound effects in filming industry, a nerds will say: “That's an overused Foley. The SD must be lazy.” (note: foely=sound effects, SD=sound developer).  A geek will say: “Oh! I love how Peter Jackson uses the Wilhelm Scream in every movie!”. (They are talking about the same thing.)

Difference 2: Social skills