人物訪談:Interviewing Writer Yiyun Li(音頻文字)

來源: 斕婷 2010-11-02 15:37:56 [] [博客] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (13840 bytes)
本文內容已被 [ 斕婷 ] 在 2010-11-05 15:17:21 編輯過。如有問題,請報告版主或論壇管理刪除.
人物訪談:Interviewing Writer Yiyun Li(音頻文字)ZT

MARCO WERMAN: I’m Marco Werman. This is The World. Yiyun Li grew up in Beijing. She came to the US in 1996 and has since won acclaim for her fiction writing in English. She has a new book of short stories out next week called Gold Boy, Emerald Girl. Yiyun, tell us a bit about your own journey from China to the US. How did you go from living in China and not speaking English to then writing acclaimed fiction in English and teaching writing now at U Cal Davis?

YIYUN LI:  That’s just one of those things that you can never find a good explanation in life. I was a science student in China and I guess when I was in China my whole goal was to go to American graduate school for science. So I could leave China. And I did and I landed in Iowa City, Iowa, where there are a lot of writers around.

WERMAN:  Very strong writing program there.

LI: That’s right and somehow I just thought maybe I would try writing, so I give up my science career and enrolled in the writing program. Since then, I became a writer.

WERMAN: I know you didn’t really speak English when you came to the United States, but I understand that when you were still in China your sister encouraged you to watch Baywatch to learn how Americans dress. Were you also learning English too from Baywatch?

LI: I watched Baywatch with the Chinese. It wasn’t subtitled, but I was told to watch how Americans behave or talked or dressed. And I didn’t speak English but I could read English when I left China.

WERMAN: And how did that jibe with what you found in Iowa City? Were there some similarities between Baywatch and Iowa City?

LI: Well, [INDISCERNIBLE] not the same thing.