周末一笑:Competition(ZT)

來源: 南山鬆 2016-10-08 12:06:30 [] [博客] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (6504 bytes)

1 競賽/Competition

Bill: Where did you get that gold watch Jon?

Jon: I won it in a race.

Bill: How many people participated in it?

Jon: Three, a policeman, the owner of the watch, and me!

比爾:你從哪兒弄來的金表,喬?

喬:我賽跑贏的。

比爾:有多少人參加?

喬:三個人,一個警察,手表的主人和我!

2 狗的壞習慣/A dog’s bad habit

As a professional animal trainer, I was disturbed when my own dog developed a bad habit. Every time I hung my wash out on the clothesline, she would yank it down. Drastic action was called for.

I put a white kitchen towel on the line and waited. Each time she pulled it off, I scolded her. After two weeks the towel was untouched. Then I hung out a large wash and left to do some errands. When I came home, my clean clothes were scattered all over the yard. On the line was the white kitchen towel.

作為一名專業的馴獸師,我對自己的狗養成的一個壞習慣感到很苦惱。每當我把洗好的衣服搭在晾衣繩上時,它總會猛地把衣物全扯下來。對此,我必須要采取嚴厲的措施。

我在繩上搭了一條白色的廚房毛巾,每當它把毛巾扯下來時,我就會訓斥它一頓。兩個星期後,它再也不碰毛巾了。於是,我把許多洗幹淨的衣服搭在晾衣繩上後,就出去辦事了。等我回到家時,洗好的衣服分散在院子的各個角落,隻有那條白毛巾依然搭在繩子上。

3 快速逃命/A hasty retreat

After a week's absence, a mountain man staggered home, clothes torn, shoes worn thin. He was exhausted.

"Where have you been?" asked his wife.

"I went out in the woods." Replied the mountain man, "and a giant bear stepped out in front of me. I took off running ahead of him and finally lost him. I never ran so fast in my life."

"But that was a week ago." Said the wife. "Where have you been since?"

The mountain man collapsed in a chair. "Walking back."

離開家一個星期後,那個登山人搖搖晃晃地回到了家,他的衣服也破了,鞋底也磨薄了,他本人更是疲憊不堪的樣子。

“你到哪兒去了?”老婆問。

“那天我到森林裏去,”登山人敘述著,“忽然一隻大熊出現在我的麵前,我拔腿就跑,熊就在後麵追,好不容易才把它甩掉,我這輩子從來沒有跑這麽快。”

“可是那是一周前的事了,”他老婆說:“後來你到哪兒去了?”

登山人癱在在椅子上說:“往回走啊!”

4 大吃一驚/A surprise

We had just moved into a new school district, when brother was invited to a surprise birthday party. He didn't want to go, however, because he couldn't recall ever meeting the birthday boy.