Why Asians won’t just move on after genocide joke

來源: ~葉子~ 2013-11-08 14:02:50 [] [博客] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (9794 bytes)
本文內容已被 [ ~葉子~ ] 在 2013-11-11 11:49:33 編輯過。如有問題,請報告版主或論壇管理刪除.

Why Asians won’t just move on after genocide joke

By ALAN MI

Published: by Dallas Morning News on 08 November 2013 12:30 PM

This weekend, you will see 10,000 Asians protesting in more than 20 U.S. cities because they feel that ABC and Jimmy Kimmel have not taken responsibility for a massive insult to their heritage.

In an episode of Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Oct. 16, a 6-year-old boy said that America should “kill everyone in China.” Kimmel played along and led a discussion about how that would work.

I joined a protest on Friday, Nov. 1, at the WFAA site in downtown Dallas. I am just an ordinary Asian-American. I’m not an organizer; I’m not extreme in my views.

I graduated from Peking University — “China’s Harvard” — and taught computer science for three years at Tsinghua University — “China’s MIT.” I fled China in 1989 after political persecution in the wake of the Tianenmen crackdown. I was 28 years old, and I didn’t understand anything people were saying in the new world.

I have never taken an English class in the U.S., but I elevated my English writing by listening to a thousand nonfiction books. So unlike many in the Asian immigrant community, I can write fairly well in English. That’s why I would like to explain why we are so upset.

Some have said our outrage is an overreaction. But if you replace “all Chinese” with “the blacks” in the sketch, you can easily see how offensive it is.

ABC and Kimmel have apologized privately and publicly, but in all the wrong ways.