想做DBA的 朋友們請進

來源: 美國老土 2010-08-22 08:01:17 [] [博客] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (5086 bytes)
看到很多job deion 都有這樣的要求:
n+ years experience working with large (3+TB, 3+B obs) databases
-- Yes, this is true.
-- When you see they requiring you know how to manage large size database, it usually means data warehouses.
-- For OLTP system, usually the size is not that kind of big.
-- I have managed many high transaction OLTP databases with more then 10TB in size, therefore,OLTP database can also grow big if you have a large customer base.

這都包括哪些skill set呢,

-- When I interview DBA candidates, I like to ask following questions:

1) How do you set up a database server? (If you are hired as a DBA, I send you join a meeting for a new project, this project need set up a new database. You are the only DBA in that meeting. Unix/Linux SA asks you in the meeting: What kind of server should we buy for this project? How do you answer? (this is a very practical question, because you will do it in the work.)

2) How do you do monitor your database system? (you need this in your work)

2) How do you do if people complain the database system is slow?

Case 1: A system running well for many years, there is nothing changed, however, this morning, people come to you, say why the Purchase Labor system is so slow this morning? What will you do? (This is very common on work.)
Case 2: Company released a new version of application to production system last night. This morning, NOC reported that that application is a piece of junk, developers don't know how to scale up the application, so it stuck when multi-million people starting connecting on the production. What will you do as a production DBA for this system? (This is a problem you will face in the work.)

3) How do you back up and recover your database? (you will do this on your work)

4) If you have a production issue, you don't know how to solve (and 老土不接你的絲蓋披 at that moment), what will you do? (You will face this on production.)