關於柴油車的認知- 歡迎拍磚

來源: 心字頭上一把刀 2011-02-22 14:30:32 [] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (12096 bytes)

Since diesel car appears to be less known to many people and there are even some misunderstandings about it, I thought it might be worth to write up something about it so it might help your decision on possibly next car purchase.

Old diesel technology: In 1992, as a poor student, I bought my first diesel car - a manual shift 84’ Toyota Camry, not many people know that Toyota had made diesel sedan. I got it from a friend for $800 and almost 100K miles on it. It was in upstate New York where it’s really cold and a lot of snow in winter. When I got this 8 year old light color car, the body was pretty much brownish as a result of the rust. The salt has taken a huge toll on the body of Japanese car. At that time, people felt the biggest advantage of having American car was the body integrity other than safety. But this diesel engine ran great. It could get 34 mpg on highway while normally Honda civic could get 26mpg then. There were a few times the battery died on me, but I was able to push start it. This is one big advantage with diesel car over gas car. Gas car can be pushed start on the condition that battery is weak but not totally died. That diesel car didn’t have spark plug since the ignition is due to high pressure rather than spark ignition. Maintenance was simple (still need oil change) and all done by myself. I put on 30+k miles in two years until finally it died and I had it towed to junk yard since fixing it would cost more than it’s worth. Nowadays, many diesel engines may have spark plugs for more efficient burning plus so much electronics usage and I have no idea if we can still push start if the battery is out. As for the fuel station for diesel, occasionally I did encounter difficulty in finding it in an unfamiliar place. But always plan ahead instead of starting to look for stations with last 10 miles left. Gas stations usually have diesel price indicated at the bo