Don't go back to China if you still want to finish your study

來源: lovewind 2006-05-18 08:52:59 [] [舊帖] [給我悄悄話] 本文已被閱讀: 次 (2596 bytes)
I was a F-1 student when I submitted my I-485. Later, I used my AP to re-enter US. I was thinking of my legal status after I came back. I have consulted several professionals, including my school ISSS. Here is my understanding:

1. I-485 submssion doesn't void your F-1. You can be F1 and AOS simultaneously. BUT

2. Once you use EAD/AP, you give up F-1 and have to use EAD to work. You are only AOS. Once you I-485 is rejected, you lost your legal status completely.

3. The school doesn't know that how you come back with AP. So if you don't tell them, they will still keep you as F-1. But later, you might have tough time dealing with INS if they are careful enough with you continous legal status. If the officer who deal with your case later is strict, you will be deemed illegally here after I-485 is denied. If he didn't pay enough attention and only look at your I-20 for that, you might get away from that.

4. It is EXTREMELY dangerous for you to go back to China for visa. You are highly likely to lose your chance of coming back. You have to seriously think about the consequence before you leave. If you don't mind giving up your degree, you could. Otherwise, don't go.

5. As for Mexica visa, I heard someone who had case like yours got her visa in Mexico. I don't know her personally. But it is also very risky in this kind of situation. The officer just wasn't too careful. When you fill in the form, you have to put yes to the question asking you whether you have applied for immigration. Then there is almost no chance for you to get F-1 visa which can't have immigration intention.